Archive for May 8, 2009

E.A.R.T.H. stands for E.verthing A.round R.evolves T.hru H.ip Hop
Crew consists of Ro Tone, NoE, Write Words and Double Negative.

Photobucket

Their sound reminds me of a combo of De La Soul, Outkast, Tribe Called Quest. And you can’t go wrong with that. They are a Southern Cali Hip Hop Group.

UPDATE

    : **Exclusive Interview on the way**

    Peep the sound:
    E.A.R.T.H.\'s Myspace page

April 19th, 1994 Nas and Exec Producer MC Serch (you might remember him from VH1’s white rapper show or the nyc old school crew 3rd bass) released Illmatic to the world. And since then it has been a classic-must have for any hip hop head.

So what other way to pay homage (living in Queens for a while I had to make sure it was tight) but to play it on the Central Soul Mixshow. Brought to you by the staff at the Central Soul Mixshow and in case you missed it:

The Nas – Illmatic Tribute Episode

Permalink Below

Being a working DeeJay has its perks. One being first hand on music and upcoming artists. Well most of the work is done by myself while seeking out new sounds and artists, but I also get 10-20 emails a day from around the world with new music from signed artists and unsigned. I got to be honest: most of the unsigned music is either from a copy cat artist, too much auto-tune, really bad audio quality, and or but not limited to your next door neighbor and his at home studio aka really bad news. Step ya game up playa. If you put in the effort to craft and find your sound, it will pay off. Trust.

One of those emails contained a song titled “move tha crowd”. At first I left it alone for about a week on my desk top. I was hoping it was something I can create into a party break for the club. The name of the song being a hint. Well it wasn’t but after listening to it twice, once for the production and the second time for the lyrics, I thought it was dope! I added it to the hip hop play list and started playing it at gigs. After listening to it a couple more times then a couple (haha), I wanted to research the artist, WEB. From there I linked to Web’s myspace page which contained more songs. Found he was part of a crew called The Central Soul. Searched for mixtapes and listened to some songs from the uploads on datpiff.com. This dude was nice! No joke. And that comes from someone who listen’s to everything that he finds with a music sound. Web and “Move Tha Crowd” was on my mental list of top unsigned artists I’ve heard from Canada. Yes Canada. Vancouver to be exact. This was around the same time I only knew Drake from the acting gig on Degrassi. He was the kid on the wheel chair with issues at school with girls he broke hearts of and his dad at home. I think. Well it was the only time I could bond with my little sister. I digress.

In Move Tha Crowd Web was talking about everything I was thinking about. Stupid copy cat rappers, hip hop being claimed dead, growing up on hip hop and so on. The lyrics were on point. Flow reminded me of an adaptation from devoted fan to artist. Direct to the point lines parked on a crazy production. The track went from my gig play list to my personal play list, easy. And I’ve had to make copies for buddies riding with me, and those asking for copies at the club or parties. Bottom line: track wasn’t what I expected from a Canadian, American Indian, Unsigned Artist.

I added some small effects to the song but kept it intact. Take a listen an comment.

For those who don’t know yet: I introduce to you, Straight From Van City: Web

Links to web:


Blog


Myspace

Twitter

Should this artist remain, Yet Unsigned?
(polls)

Cassie’s PC Hacked

Posted: May 8, 2009 in The Buzz
Tags: , , , ,

Apparently, the buzz right now is these hacked personal nude photos of Bad Boy artist, Cassie Ventura. In her own words : IT SEEMS THAT SOMEONE HAS HACKED INTO MY COMPUTER…THAT’S REAL FOUL AND EVIL. NOW STOP ACTING LIKE YOU HAVEN’T SEEN A TITTY BEFORE. (via – twitter.com/cassieventura)

Is it coincidence or a well strategic marketing plan to build hype around her upcoming album? We heard from Ptwitty TV she’s in the studio for weeks if not months now. And I don’t know if you guys remember but Diddy told me he wouldn’t stop, he told me he wouldn’t stop. haha. First the haircut and now this? If this is in fact a marketing plan.. standing ovation for Cassie for being so bold and carefree. She also said “now stop acting like you haven’t seen a titty before”  which makes her in my eyes that much hotter. Bold, Beautiful and a good voice.

**I’m not posting the nude photos. You can search them yourselves. Hint: google**

Should Cassie Pose for Playboy?
(polls)